Skip to content


Established in 1952, the Asiatic Society had been known as Asiatic Society of Pakistan, and since 1972 renamed as Asiatic Society of Bangladesh. In establishing the Society, the leading role was played by Ahmad Hasan Dani, the great archaeologist and Indologist of world repute. Other scholars involved in the foundation of the Society were Muhammad Shahidullah, ABM Habibullah, Abdul Halim, and many others. The founding scholars of the Society intended to make the organisation a centre of learning specialising on Asian studies.

The Asiatic Society of Bangladesh is a non-political and non-profit learned organisation of scholars registered under the Societies Registration Act of 1860. A premier learned organisation in the country, the Society is managed by a 17-member council elected by members. The tenure is for two years. While the day-to-day affairs are managed by the General Secretary and Secretary, the policy matters are being discussed and adopted by the Council. There are several standing subject committees to help the Council implementing its policies. The Council meets mandatorily at least once a month. The office bearers and members of the Council work on honourary basis.

ASB Nimtali Gate NEW